The Member-to-Member Blocks API allows site members to block other members. After a member blocks another member, the 2 members no longer see each other on the site, for example in member lists and on member profiles. The blocked member isn't notified about the block.
With the Member-to-Member Blocks API, you can:
- Block and unblock members on behalf of the current member.
- Retrieve the members the current member blocked.
- Retrieve all blocks involving a member, in both directions.
Blocks also affect the results of the Members API. For details, see Integration Guide.
It's important to note the following points before starting to code:
- A site must have the Wix Members Area installed from the App Market.
- Block Member, Unblock Member, and List Current Member Blocking act on behalf of the current member, so they must be called with a site member identity.
- Each pair of members can have a single block. A member can't block a member who has already blocked them.
- A member can remove only blocks they created. A blocked member can't remove a block.
- Blocks can't involve the site owner or site contributors. When a member becomes the site owner or a contributor, all blocks involving them are removed.
- Member: A person who signed up to a site's Members Area.
- Block: A relationship in which 1 member hides another member from themselves. The 2 members can no longer see each other on the site.
- Blocking member: The member who created the block.
- Blocked member: The member the block was created on.